Following on from the huge success of their last release together, ​Sirens, ​Mark Jenkyns is back under the Hot Creations umbrella alongside his longtime collaborator Mizbee. Allow us to introduce ​Soulfood EP​. The four track release also features a vocal appearance from profound lyricist Sheff and a remix by tech house virtuoso Inxec.

Typical of Hot Creations, Jenkyns​ opens the EP with a dynamic beat. Questions feat. Sheff is a funky, fierce anthem brimming with catchy melodies and arousing vocals. Relish in Northern singer/songwriter Mizbee​’s charming vocals as she guides us through the bustling second track; Soulfood. There’s something about Mizbee and her stunning voice, encased in a compelling bassline and jazzy piano tunes, her pleasing lyrics flow throughout Heated. Inxec ​brings his special touch to his Questions Remix, a lively take on the original, complete with resounding horns and a mid-way vocal breakdown.

When asked about the EP Jenkyns remarked: “I feel this EP is food for the soul, it has something for everyone, grooves a plenty and jam packed full of great vibes!”, and what a delicious meal it is. 2018 is set to be an exciting year for Newcastle-born Jenkyns, with an array of tracks set to be released this year on the likes of Desert Hearts, VIVa, Cajual and Resonance Records. Fellow Geordie, Mizbee, has an exciting year as she puts the finishing touches to her highly anticipated first album. Sheff, hailing from the Midlands has had a pious musical career beginning as an editor before finding his calling in electronic music. Remixer Inxec boasts support from some of the scene’s biggest names including Sasha, Lee Burridge and Craig Richards.


Artist: Mark Jenkyns, Inxec, Sheff, Mizbee
Title: Soulfood EP
Label: Hot Creations
Release Date: 2018-03-16

A1 Questions feat.Sheff
A2 Soulfood feat. Mizbee
B1 Heated feat. Mizbee
B2 Questions feat. Sheff (Inxec Remix)


– jams
Jimbo James