Dear Deer Records enlist man of the moment Betoko for a new EP that shows off his unique style on one standout original. Remixes from Sirus Hood, Monkey Brothers, Sezer Uysal and Simone Vitullo all add to the package and make it a truly essential EP.

Phantasy is the name of the original from Betoko, a man who releases his influential tunes on labels like Nervous Records, Smiley Fingers, Hedonism Music, Einmusika Recordings and many more. It is a deep, moody tune with teasing bass and rubbery drums. The centre piece is an emotive, dreamy male vocal that really imbues the track with a sense of forlorn romance. Drop this one in the club and it is sure to get plenty of attention.

Sezer Uysal makes it into something a little darker and deeper, with driving drums and cosmic synths, Monkey Brothers layer in poignant bass and treat the vocal well so that it becomes a spooky, echoing whisper and Simone Vitullo layers in arpeggiated chords that add colour and intergalactic energy. Last of all, Sirus Hood goes for a spine tingling version with delicate chords and melodies raining down from above.

All in all this is a varied and vital package from a hugely consistent label.


Artist: Betoko, Sirus Hood, Monkey Brothers, Sezer Uysal, Simone Vitullo
Title: Phantasy EP
Label: Dear Deer Records
Release Date: 2018-03-12


– jams
Jimbo James